Hurston/Wright Foundation | Preston L. Allen
single,single-authors,postid-23858,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,select-theme-ver-1.7.1,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.3.5,vc_responsive

Preston L. Allen



Every Boy Should Have a Man

Preston L. Allen


Preston L. Allen grew up in Boston and Miami, where as a latchkey older brother of four younger siblings he learned to tell stories to entertain the others and keep them from bouncing off the walls and hurting themselves while their parents were at work. A recipient of a State of Florida Individual Artist Fellowship in Fiction and winner of the Sonja H. Stone Prize in Literature, he is author of the short story collection Churchboys and Other Sinners (Carolina Wren Press 2003) and the novels All or Nothing (Akashic 2007) and Jesus Boy (Akashic 2010), which O the Oprah Magazine listed as one of “Ten More Titles to Read Now,” Dennis Lehane called “a tender masterpiece,” and about which the New York Times proclaimed, “no one does church sexy like Allen.” His short stories have appeared in numerous literary journals and have been anthologized in Miami Noir, Las Vegas Noir, Brown Sugar, Wanderlust, Making the Hook Up, and Here We Are: an Anthology of South Florida Writers. He holds a BA in English from the University of Florida and an MFA in creative writing from Florida International University. He lives and teaches writing in South Florida.

Literature and Fiction,