Hurston/Wright Foundation | A World of Black Writers
home,page,page-id-19843,page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,select-theme-ver-1.7.1,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.3.5,vc_responsive

The Hurston/Wright Foundation provides multiple workshops to serve emerging and midcareer writers in the genres of fiction, nonfiction and poetry.

Adult writers at all-stages of their writing careers learn from award-winning and acclaimed writers in these craft-focused seminars. Depending on class size and availability, participants submit work for critique in an intimate workshop setting.


2017 Writers Week

In programs
Tiphanie Yanique, Marita Golden and Laila Lalami

We Need Your Support

In programs
  • Hurston/Wright Foundation Announces 2016 Legacy Awards

    WASHINGTON, D.C. – The Zora Neale Hurston/Richard Wright Foundation announced the winners and finalists of the 2016 Legacy Awards and paid tribute to celebrated authors Ernest J. Gaines and Junot Díaz on Friday, October 21st in Washington, D.C. More than 200 literary stars and representatives......

  • Nunez and Eubanks

    Elizabeth Nunez and Ralph Eubanks Present Free Reading

    Elizabeth Nunez Nunez, author of nine novels and a memoir, will be reading from and signing copies of her latest novel, “Even in Paradise.” Her memoir, “Not for Everyday Use,” won the Hurston/Wright 2015 Legacy Award for nonfiction. “Even in Paradise,” says Kirkus Reviews, is......


The Hurston/Wright Foundation’s annual Legacy Awards Gala is one of the brightest nights in the literary community.  The first Legacy Awards ceremony was held in 2001  to celebrate the trailblazers who paved a way for generations of Black writers and to honor excellence in literature by Black writers. The honors include merit awards  determined by the Board of Directors, juried competition in the categories of fiction, nonfiction and poetry, and recognition of college writers. Stars of the literary community join the Hurston/Wright Foundation with tributes to Zora Neale Hurston and Richard Wright, as well as recognitions of other giants who ensure that Black literature is available, accessible and the tradition of writing continues.