Legacy Awards

October 24, 2014​

The Hurston/Wright Legacy Award™ is the first national award presented to published writers of African descent by the national community of Black writers. This award consists of prizes for the highest quality writing in the categories of Fiction, Nonfiction, and Poetry. In addition to the Legacy Awards, President's Choice Awards are awarded at the Legacy Award ceremony.



2014 Hurston/Wright Legacy Award Nominees

Past Winners







The judges for the 2014 Hurston/Wright Legacy Award:


Fiction:   Dana Johnson, Tina McElroy Ansa, A.J. Verdelle

Nonfiction: Amy Alexander, Sheryll Cashin, Fredrick C. Harris

Poetry: Hoke Glover, Brian Gilmore, Teri Cross Davis 

Legacy Award Fundraising Gala

​The Hurston/Wright Legacy Award is an annual fundraising gala that honors and celebrates excellence in Black literature. Every year artistic, literary, corporate, philanthropic, social, and political leaders join together to support Hurston/Wright programs.

We invite you to support this year's Hurston/Wright Legacy Award. This annual fundraiser supports our award for college writers and teen writing workshops which fulfills a critical need and helps close the achievement gap for African American teens in the region.

Join Us

Book Submissions

We invite publishers and self-published authors to submit books published by writers of African descent. All books submitted must be published between January - December of the year in which the book is being submitted.

Submission Guidelines