Award for College Writers

The Hurston/Wright Award for College Writers was established by novelist Marita Golden to honor excellence in fiction writing by students of African descent. Winners are selected annually in April for the best unpublished short story or novel excerpt.

​Eligibility: At the time of submission, applicants must be enrolled full-time as an undergraduate or graduate student in a U.S. college or university. Writers who have published a book in any genre are ineligible.

Application Process:

Complete the online application which includes:

Submissions must be received between November 30, 2013-January 31, 2014

The nominated winner and finalists will be required to provide a verification of college enrollment and a photo. Previous winners are not eligible. Notification letters will be emailed mid April.

Award for College Writers

Published Winners & Finalist:

Apply Today

2013 Award for College Writers Recipients


Justin Campbell.jpg

Justin Campbell, a native of California is pursuing a Masters in English from Loyola Marymount University. He was selected as the winner for his novel excerpt Sitting on the Knees of God.


To read an excerpt from the winning story click here.


Samantha Mallory.jpg

Samantha Mallory, a native of Tennessee is pursuing a Bachelors of Arts in English from Middle Tennessee State University. She was selected as a finalist for her short story Ren.

Cary Williams.jpg

Cary Williams, a native of Massachusetts is pursuing a Bachelors in History, Literature, and African and African-American Studies from the Harvard University. She was selected as a finalist for her short story My Street.

Honorable Mention

Sanderia Smith, for her novel excerpt Mourning Bench.


Essence Ward, for her novel excerpt The Lynching.

Alyss Dixson, for her short story Palestine.

Previous Recipients